Skip to content

Hello every-nyan!

2010/01/01

Well, before everything, I shall be noted that today is January 1st, so let me say 明けましておめでとうございます!

Now, let me welcome you to shikinami.wordpress . Let me introduce myself. I’m an “otaku” who happens to be a university student. I live in Brazil and, according to most people around me, I’m a Japanophile. I guess you already knew that only by looking at the blog header… Anyways…

I have contact with Japanese sub-culture since my early years. During my childhood, I remember spending quite some time watching anime as Saint Seiya, movies as Godzilla versus King Ghidorah and tokusatsu series as Ultraman Tiga. By the age of 10, I was hooked into Sakura Card Captor, Pokémon, Digimon, Yu Yu Hakusho and Dragon Ball Z. But it was not until 2007 that I really developed a more profound interest about the Japanese culture in general. That year I attended the Brazilian round of World Cosplay Summit and that very first contact with cosplay really changed my life. I mean, by the end of the day I wanted to become a cosplayer as well and, most important, I really wanted to watch all those series that, obviously, were not broadcasted in Brazil.

The first anime I watched after that convention/championship was Neon Genesis Evangelion, certainly a choice that hastened my transformation into an otaku. Now I laugh when I remember of that since I’ve picked NGE just because the ending music was “Fly Me to the Moon” (I was a Frank Sinatra fan by that time). Right after that I watched Trinity Blood, Fate/Stay Night and Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu. No need to say that there was no turning back by that time: I started to read about Japanese culture in general, cosplayed as Gendo Ikari twice, bought my first figure, and, after entering college, started reading the news about economy and politics in East Asia in general, but specially in Japan.

That being said about me, you probably know what this blog’s all about: a mix of Japanese culture, personal posts and comments on East Asian politics. Shortly: this blog is a tool to address my passions. But it shall be noted that I do hope to exchange ideas with everyone out there, and that includes you. This is no monologue: your opinion is encouraged, being of approval, dissent or whatever you want to say. I’d also like to point out that English is a foreign language to me, so feel free to warn me of any major linguistic mistake I may make.

I know this post is a bit long by now, but let me make two last remarks: (1) posts will have a random periodicity due to my weird college timetable and (2) I’d like to recommend you all the blogs listed in my blogroll, those people genuinely exceeds in what they do because they do so with passion. So I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed if you bother checking some of those links.

You may find more info about me and about this blog at the “About” section. If you want to contact me, please feel free to do so via twitter (@shikinami) or by mail (qshikinami [at] gmail [dot] com). どうぞ よろしくおねがいします。

P.S.: Kudos if you understood the not-so-subtle anime reference in this post’s title. If you didn’t, here’s a tip: “I wish I were a bird.”

P.S.2.: About my blog header, if any Japanese find it offensive, please contact me right away, I’ll change it as soon as possible.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/01/02 1:45 AM

    Happy New Year! And welcome to the world of blogging 😀

    Interesting that you got into NGE because of Fly Me to the Moon. It was the opening that got to me, and the name Megumi Hayashibara was on the cast. My first anime had a character named Megumi in it, so the name caught my attention. Not only that, but she also voices Rei Ayanami… Probably the reason why I have that shrine ^^;

    Anyway… I’ll try to keep up and good luck!

    • 2010/01/06 12:41 PM

      Thanks!

      In that time I wasn’t even worried about seyuus and I never heard “A Cruel Angel Thesis.” I guess this shows my level of noobness XD And I also love Megumi Hayashibara, one of my favorite seyuu so far. I never forget how impressed I was when I discovered she also did the voices (err… sounds?) of EVA-01 and Bulbasaur lol

  2. 2010/01/03 10:25 PM

    Happy New Year! 😀

    You reminded me that my first anime was Sailormoon, too bad I didn’t know that I’m an otaku that time, I know Sailormoon are made in Japan but it was dubbed in Malay language XD overall I really like that series.

    • 2010/01/06 12:57 PM

      Thank you!

      My first anime was probably Saint Seiya but I also didn’t knew I’d grow up (? lol) to become some sort of otaku too. XD By that time all series, including the op and endings, were dubbed in Portuguese. I guess it was some sort of trend to dub everything by that time?

      About Sailor Moon, it was mainly regarded as a “girl cartoon” here, unfortunately. And it was censored some times, the gender of some characters was changed and so on. I don’t know all the details since I’ve never watched the whole series.

Leave a Reply

